Over the next few days, I’m going to look at each goal individually and explain just why I want to do them.

Travel
1. Visit all 50 US states.
The US has many national characteristics that pull the country together as a whole. But each state has its own unique culture and history that is worth checking out. Not to mention that the sheer size of the country make this quite a feat to achieve.
2. Fly first class on an airline.
When I fly, I’ve always gone in coach. I’d love to see what life is like in the front of the plane.
3. Visit all seven continents. (1/7; 14%)
It’s a big world out there, and I want to see how each of the continents are different from each other.
4. Live in a foreign country for a year.
Living in a foreign country would undoubtedly be an eye-opening experience. To be immersed in another culture, in another way of thinking- that would be awesome!
5. Fly around the world on a round-the-world ticket.
The three major airline alliances (SkyTeam, Star Alliance and oneworld) all offer a special fare where you can use the partner airlines to circle around the world. This would be a fun way to explore the world besides just flying out to one or two places and then coming back home again.
6. Go on a Panama Canal cruise.
I love the idea of going through the canal. It’s a feat of human engineering and one of the major passageways between the Pacific and Atlantic oceans. Plus experiencing the boat rising and falling as it goes through the lock system would be memorable.
7. Spend 3 weeks in New Zealand.
After seeing Peter Jackson’s Lord of the Rings movies, I’ve wanted to come visit this country. Between the gorgeous countryside, the unusual animals and all the adventure activities, it’ll take 3 weeks to see it all.
8. Go overseas.
This may seem like a redundant goal, and it is. Since visiting all 7 continents will take considerable time and money, I want to set a smaller goal I can meet along the way so I know I’m making progress.
9. Take a roadtrip with friends.
Cars are interesting places to get to know people. Some of the deepest conversations I’ve had with friends has been in a car. Since everyone is in close quarters for long period of time, it makes opening up easier since there’s no rush to get through a conversation.
10. See Niagara Falls.
To be near such a roar of falling water would be incredible to experience. I particularly want to walk under the falls.
11. Go to Mardi Gras in New Orleans.
Let the good times roll! I want to see how the city is doing after Katrina went through and to see the parades.
12. See the “bean” in Chicago.
I have several friends that rave about Chicago on a regular basis. I want to see what all the hype is about.
13. Go see a taping of the Colbert show in New York City.
I love watching the show. Plus, it’s an excuse to visit NYC.
14. Cross into Canada by boat.
15. Cross into Canada by foot.

I’ve crossed into Canada by plane, train, and van; so it would be fun to cover the other two major forms of transportation.
16. Have a steak dinner in Argentina.
I’ve heard the steak down there is amazing, and I love good food.
17. Visit Cedar Point
I love riding roller coasters, and Cedar Point has 17 of them.
18. See the Hong Kong light show.
44 of the city’s skyscrapers are linked together to put on a light show along the water. I’ve been told by friends it is beautiful to behold.
19. See a taping of NPR’s “Wait, Wait, Don’t Tell Me” in Chicago.
I’m a fan of the show and it would be interesting to see a radio show in person.
20. Visit all the US national parks. (3/58; 5%)
With global warming and population growth, natural areas are slowly turning into strip malls. I want to see what I can before it’s gone.
21. Wear the clothing of a native country in that country.
Sometimes the way to understand a culture is to mimic it, even if it’s just with some clothes.
22. Take a gondola through the canals of Venice.
Sure, it’s a cheesy, tourist activity, but it’s an excuse to go to Venice.
23. Visit one of the international Girl Scout houses.
I’ve been involved with the Girl Scouts for over 18 years. In other countries, there are houses designed to welcome Girl Scouts and Girl Guides from around the world to celebrate the movement.
24. Fly on Singapore airlines.
Singapore airlines is one of the most highly rated airlines in the world and is known for their service and the Singapore girls. I want to see for myself what sets it apart from other airlines.
25. Go see an Olympics sporting event in person.
I missed my chance when the Atlanta Olympics came within driving distance of me. I don’t want to miss them again.
26. Visit all of Canada’s territories and provinces. (2/12; 17%)
My northern neighbor is full of its own unique charm that begs to be seen. And with only 12 territories to the US’s 50 states, it should be a little easier to visit them all.
27. Visit the Galapagos islands.
With all the unique critters there, it’s worth a visit.
28. Ride Amtrak’s “City of New Orleans” train.
I like taking Amtrak trains. The reason I want to ride this particular route is because they offer a special menu not offered on any of their other trains.
29. Fly 100 airline routes. (14%)
I track my flights on Flightmemory and I want to reach that magic 100 number of unique routes flown.
30. Visit Easter Island.
What’s not to like about giant stone heads?
31. Take a trip through the Chunnel.
I’ve taken trains over water, but under water would be quite a feat.

