At the beginning of each month, I will post an update summarizing my goal progress in the previous month. October is the first full month of my project and I’ve already had some success. Because of the list, I was motivated to go out and knock off goal 84.

That goal was to go out to the Give Kids the World Village and help the staff there with serving families with children that have very serious or terminal medical problems. Those children wished to come to Orlando to visit Disney World and the other parks. So Give Kids the World build a village for those families to stay in for a week while they visit the parks. I have a friend who works for Disney and frequently volunteers at GKTW. He had been encouraging myself and other people to step up and help out. Until last month, I just wasn’t making the time to go and help out for a few hours. But because of the list and my friend’s persistance, I did and I really enjoyed it. When I got there, I was assigned dinner duty and helped served food to the families as they returned to the village for the evening. It was so nice to get out, meet some new people, and do something nice for those families. I hope to get back out there again soon.

I’ve also made some progress on some other goals. I’ve knocked off another state on my list of states left to visit, which brings my total to 17 of 50 states visited for goal 1. I’m also continuing to do some running to prep for races later this year.

This month, I’m going to focus on goal 63- finishing Guitar Hero 2 on Hard. A lot of new video games have come out recently that I would enjoy playing. So I want to tackle this goal first before I get distracted by those other games. I’m also looking at the local race schedule and trying to figure out when I’ll be ready to run my first 5K.

My biggest concern right now is that I might get so distracted by all the holiday celebrations around the corner that I forget to keep working on stuff on the list. I need to develop momentum and not get sidetrack if I want to finish everything before I die.

