When I first came up with all these goals, I figured that problems like having enough time or money to achieve all of them would be my biggest obstacles. But what I’m discovering is having the motivation to get my butt off the couch and go do what I need to do is becoming my biggest challenge so far. I haven’t embraced a goal-chasing mindset yet.

The goal-chasing mindset is one where I wake up every morning thinking of what I can do that day to get closer to one of my goals that day. And then refusing to go back to bed at the end of the day until I’ve done whatever it takes to do that one thing. Whether it’s going for a 3-mile run; playing a challenging song on Guitar Hero; or cutting my cable so I can save that money for a round-the-world trip; I have to convert my thoughts into actions.

I’m not sure how I will go about embracing such a mindset. But I’m going to take the first step by getting off my bum and playing some Guitar Hero.

