“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.” – Mark Twain

The beginning of each new year is always an exciting one for me. It’s a chance to make new plans for fun travels and it’s another shot to set a new personal record for the most distance covered in a year. It’s also an opportunity to reflect upon the adventures of the previous year and to think of ways to make the next year an even better one.

Last year was a milestone year for me in terms of travel. I covered much of the North American continent, from Canada to the Carribean and many points in-between. Every other month I was going somewhere fun and exciting. In fact, I was travelling so much friends and family stopped even stop asking awkward questions like “Have you gotten a boyfriend yet” and started asking “Where are you going to next?” I developed a reputation for being a traveller, despite having a job that sends me nowhere.

The biggest challenge for me in the new year is to try to keep up the pace. I really enjoyed travelling as much as I did in 2008, and I hope to do it again. I have no shortage of new places to go- I’m considering everything from Peru to Singapore, New York City to Portland, and all points in-between. The difficulty will be to save up the funds needed to make the trips. But if there’s one thing I learned in 2008, it’s that you don’t have to have a fortune or an employer that will pay for travel (although it can’t hurt!).

What it really takes for me is to make travel a priority in my life and having the determination to make it happen. And I have no shortage of that. 🙂

What are you making your priority in the new year?

