The month of March was a slow one in terms of marking off items off my list. I didn’t achieve any goals at all. But I do not consider the month to be a waste. It was more of a month devoted to preparation and research for goals I will be doing in the next two months.

I registered for my first 5K this weekend, which is very exciting for me. I normally run alone, so this will be the first time that I’m running with other people. I’m also running a course I’ve never been on in a small town I’ve never been in. So it’s a chance to do a little exploring along the way. Since this will be my first race, it’s also the first time that I will get an official time and get a good idea of just how fast I’m really running. While I’m focusing more on distance, not speed, having a race time will help me develop a 10k training plan for my next race.

Another goal that I’m working on is trying a vegetarian diet for 30 days. I just read the book The Complete Idiots’ Guide to Vegan Living last week and it was filled with useful info like how to get all the proteins and vitamins needed to stay healthy. It answered a lot of questions I had about such a diet and gave me a lot of meal ideas (since starving to death is usually considered to be a bad thing). I’m planning to start my no-meat diet after my trip to Boston next month. If I can stick to it, then I will be able to cross it off my list in May.

I also started a penpal relationship with a young girl in Kenya. I got in contact with her through a charity called “Food For the Hungry“. She has sent me an introductory letter along with a photo and I’m working on my first letter to her. I don’t know how often we’ll be able to exchange letters due to the distance, but I’m thrilled that I get to build a relationship with someone from a culture vastly different from my own.

Finally, barring any financial emergencies, I will be making my last car payment in April. This is a big step towards doing more travelling, since my car payments are the second largest expense in my budget. It means I will be in a good financial position to do more trips in the second half of the year.

So all in all, March was a good month. I feel good about the progress I’ve made towards several goals, even if I didn’t get to cross one off this month.

