I’m on day 14 of my vegetarian adventure and so far, it’s been quite easy. Almost too easy. Every resturant I’ve visited in the last two weeks have all had multiple vegetarian options. The grocery store is chock-full of vegetarian items, from frozen dinners to raw ingredients that can be used in various reciepes. Even the American tradition of the Memorial Day barbecue hasn’t posed a problem for me.

Until this week, I hadn’t mentioned to any of my friends that I was going vegetarian for a month. I didn’t want them to go out of their way to accommodate me since I wanted to see how difficult it would be to maintain the diet. In fact, none of them even noticed my change in diet until I brought some garden burgers to the holiday barbecue.

The only downside of the diet so far is that I’m a little more prone to eating junk food since I’m eating less protein which tends to give me a case of the munchies. I’m trying to cut out the junk food by keeping more fruit and veggies around and drinking more water.

The ease of maintaining this diet has me debating whether I should go vegetarian for good after the 30 days are up. On one hand, it would be good for the planet. On the other hand, there’s a lot of good dishes out there that I would miss, especially around the holidays or when I’m out traveling. What I may end up doing is when I cook at home, I’ll be vegetarian but enjoy meat dishes on special occasions. That would reduce my meat consumption considerably, which would be good for the planet, but I wouldn’t be completely depriving myself either. I still have two more weeks to go, so I still have a lot of time to think about it.

