When I heard about a jetliner going missing yesterday, my heart dropped. An hour later, a declaration of “no hope”

Photo provided by adigitaldreamer.com

Photo provided by adigitaldreamer.com

was made by Air France as the aircraft would have exhausted all of its fuel by that point. Searchers are now looking to the sea for pieces of the broken bird. Families of the passengers and crew gather in Rio de Janerio and Paris to mourn and to face whatever comes next. I can’t begin to imagine what their pain must have been like for them as the awful truth is coming to light.

For me, the crash is a reminder that life is fragile and that no one is guaranteed tomorrow. Whatever time I have on this earth is precious and should not be wasted. It also reinforced to me the importance of my life goal list. That list represents many of my hopes and aspirations for my life and I want to achieve them before I leave this planet. I need to stay focused on living a full and meaningful life as I can.

It’s also a reminder of how important spending time with loved ones are to me. After I finish writing, I’m going to call some family members, just to see how they are doing and to tell them that I love them. I don’t call them nearly enough and it’s a shame that it takes a tragedy like this to remind me to do that.

My thoughts and prayers go out to the 228 families affected by this tragedy. I hope the searchers can find answers for them soon so that they and the world can have closure.

When the crash happened, this song from the last Lord of the Rings movie came to mind. I posted part of the lyrics here in the memory of the victims.

“Into the West”

Hope fades
Into the world of night
Through shadows falling
Out of memory and time
Don’t say
We have come now to the end
White shores are calling
You and I will meet again
And you’ll be here in my arms
Just sleeping

-Lyrics by Fran Walsh

