Beignet machine at Cafe Du Monde. Flour is put through the rollers and cut into squares.

Beignet machine at Cafe Du Monde. Flour is put through the rollers and cut into squares.

On my last day in New Orleans, I decided to get out of the French Quarter area for a bit and head over to the museum district to visit the WWII museum that several people recommended to me. On the way over, I stopped for another tasty beignet breakfast over at Cafe du Monde’s riverwalk location. At that location, I was able to watch barges go up and down the Mississippi river. I also watched beignets getting made, as the machine and the fryer is located next to the order counter behind a window.

The WWII museum had a lot of interesting films and displays about the war. One of my favorite displays included war propaganda and posters. Some of the propaganda included a US comic about how to tell the difference between Chinese and Japanese people and how the Japanese portrayed the US in their media. The blatant racism shown by both sides was shocking but par for the course at that time in history. Some of the other displays included first-hand accounts by people living during the war, interactive maps that showed the major battles of the war and actual planes used at the time. Overall, the museum was a good way to learn not only about WWII, but also the role that the state of Louisiana played in it.

One of several warplanes on display at the museum.

One of several warplanes on display at the museum.

After the museum, I decided to head back over to the Central World Market to get a muffaletta. Unfortunately, I failed to check what days they were opened the first time around and was foiled again in my efforts to get a muff as they were closed on Mondays too.

So I went over to Pat O’Brien’s instead and got their tasty foccacia muffuletta and a glass of New Orlean’s signature drink- the hurricane.

After lunch, it was time to get my bag from the hotel and head over to the airport. The co-worker that I was helping out was gracious enough to give me a lift to the airport. Otherwise, taking a taxi or using the airport shuttle service would have been my other options. The Louis Armstrong International Airport is one of the smaller airports that I’ve been through. It has two runways and most US airlines provide connections from New Orleans to their respective hubs. The advantage of the airport’s smaller size is that getting through security was a breeze. I was through as quickly as I could get my bag on the belt. There’s not a lot of stores or restaurants past security in the B terminal, but that wasn’t an issue for me as my Southwest flight was leaving in an hour anyway.

The flight home was quite light- only 23 passengers on a plane normally designed for 137 people (and I suspect will be

Pat OBrien Hurricane

Pat O'Brien's Hurricane

the lightest load I’ll see this year).

Overall, the trip was amazing. The food alone is worth the visit. The history, the music and the Mardi Gras spirit gives the city a unique culture that can’t be found anywhere else. If I get the chance to return again, I would dine at places I didn’t have time for this trip. I would also go down to the Garden district and maybe take a cruise down the river. And even though the city will be mobbed during Mardi Gras, it would fun to be there with all the people and see the parades.

Laissez les bon temps roulez!

