NY State Courthouse

"In the criminal justice system, the people are represented by two separate yet equally important groups: the police, who investigate crime, and the district attorneys, who prosecute the offenders. These are their stories."

For the last day of the trip, I didn’t have anything planned in advance. I wanted to keep it open in case there was something we didn’t get to earlier. My mom wanted to visit the state courthouse where on its steps many Law and Order scenes were filmed. So we visited there first. It was nice to see the courthouse, although it looked like every other Roman-designed courthouse. I did spot the Smithsonian Museum of the American Indian as we left the area. I didn’t realize the Smithsonian had other institutions located outside of Washington, D.C.
I wanted to visit the United Nations next. Unfortunately, due to a global summit that was happening next week, we couldn’t tour the UN as it was closed to visitors. Hopefully the next time I’m in the area I can tour the place.

United Nations Headquarters

United Nations Headquarters, sans the country flags.

Our last stop before heading out of town was visiting the famous metal bull that is the symbol of Wall St. Now, I thought finding a giant metal bull would be pretty easy to spot in NYC. Sure, there’s lots of crazy things to see around the city, but even a large animal cast in brass attracts attention. But it was challenging to find the “Charging Bull” for the simple reason that despite its connection to Wall St., the bull is not actually on Wall St. It’s close, but it’s a few blocks over on the north end of Bowling Green at Broadway and State streets.  We ended up having to get directions from a friendly New Yorker who pointed us in the right direction. We found it, surrounded by a large group of tourists eager to get their picture taken in front of it. The bull is sculpted in great detail, right down to certain, ah, anatomical features.
After getting a few pictures, we headed back to the hotel to grab our bags and headed over to Penn Station to catch a train back to Newark Airport. Work on the Airtrain was still going on so it was a bit chaotic getting back to the terminal. The flight back on Continental was on time and uneventful. I did spot the Continental retro jet (a plane painted in CO’s old color scheme) parked at one of the gates in EWR, which was fun to see. I had heard about it but never seen it before.

Final thoughts

Overall, the trip was a great success. I’ve been wanting to see New York for many years, so I’m glad I finally made it there. The city was everything I imagined it would be. From the ease of getting around on the subway to the diversity of different neighborhoods and restaurants to the hustle and bustle of being in one of the world’s largest cities, I enjoyed every aspect of it.

Even though I spent five days there, I barely explored all the city has to offer. If I get a chance to go again, I would love to get out of Manhattan and explore some of the surrounding boroughs. I’d also go visit more museums and walk through the north end of Central Park. New York City has no shortage of things to do, so I suspect I’ll be making many more trips there in the future.

