It’s been a fun summer for me and one where I got to check some items off my list and made progress on some other goals.

Sunset over Parkishon, Kenya

Sunset over Parkishon, Kenya

Last month, my visit to Kenya achieved a number of goals. One was to haggle in a market. Another was doing volunteer work overseas with my church and Food for the Hungry. And since it was my first visit to Africa, I’m one continent closer to visiting all seven.

In June, my sister and I took on a ropes and zipline course in St. Maartan, thus achieving my goal of riding on a zipline.

In April, a friend invited me up to Chicago for a long weekend (a slightly-belated trip report will be coming soon). I got to see the Bean (goal #12) and added another state to my list. Unfortunately, NPR’s “Wait, Wait Don’t Tell Me” was taping out of town that week, so I have an excuse to visit the fantastic Windy City again soon.

So as of right now, I’ve done 18 items on my list. I’m still working on my fall plans where I hope to visit a couple of more states and do some of the other items on my list. I may also tweak the list a bit for this blog’s 2nd anniversary in October. The point of the list is so that I can push myself to try new things, go to new places and inspire others to do the same. Not all the items on the list achieve that, so I’d like to do some editing on it.

All in all, it’s been a fun adventure working through this list and I can’t wait to do more items on it.

